YALC Haul // Current Geeky & Non-Geeky Favourites #6

I’ve already mentioned this in my post-YALC round-up earlier this week, but perhaps for lack of something to talk about, I’ve decided to talk you through the books (and other goodies) I picked up at YALC last weekend.

ARCs

Blackbird by N. D. Gomes

I didn’t know much about this book, but was handed it by a friend who had picked it up and had since decided it was more my kind of thing than hers. The story starts when 5,000 blackbirds drop dead and a girl goes missing. The blurb doesn’t really give much away, but I’m looking forward to finding out more.

The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven

This was the ARC I was the most eager to get my hands on. It pitches itself as a feminist novel about the double standards faced by women when it comes to sex, and the story revolves around the drama that ensues when the main character gets caught up in a sex scandal after sleeping with a senator’s son. I am so excited to read this!

Otherworld by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller

Before I saw this, I had no idea that Jason Segel (who you might recognise from How I Met Your Mother or I Love You, Man) wrote books. The book sounds a little Westworld-meets-Ready Player One, and from what I can tell, explores the idea of a future where people flock to a world built in virtual reality.

The Taste of Blue Light by Lydia Ruffles

The blurb of this book instantly grabbed my attention. This is a young adult book about a girl who has lost her memory of what happened over the summer and is searching for the truth about why she ended up in hospital. This sounds like a dark and mysterious novel, and I’m looking forward to reading it.

Book Swap

Hot Key Books ran a book swap this year, where I exchanged a couple of my second-hand books (and ARCs I picked up during the convention) for these:

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

I felt so lucky to find this in the book swap, since it’s something I’ve been keen to read for a while. The main character of this young adult fantasy novel is a sharpshooter looking to escape a dead-end desert town, and I’m excited to experience the unique setting.

The Martian by Andy Weir

Having loved the film adaptation of this book, I’m very excited to read the original source. This survivalist sci-fi is all about what happens when astronaut Mark Watney  becomes stranded alone on Mars and needs to improvise to stay alive.

Saga Volume 5 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Another stroke of luck at the book swap! I’m really enjoying the Saga series, and this is the next missing book in my collection. This graphic novel is part of an ongoing space opera about a couple from opposite sides of an interplanetary war and on the run from their enemies.

Purchases

The Way of Kings (Parts One and Two) by Brandon Sanderson

I really liked Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy, and I’ve heard glowing reviews for this series. It’s an epic fantasy series about a solider, a brightlord and a scholar who are dragged into a war fought over mystical armour and weaponry with the power to turn men into near-invincible warriors. I’m very excited to start this series.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

I’m surprised I didn’t pick up Carry On sooner, since I lived Fangirl, and love the idea behind this book. Carry On is the fanfic Cath writes in Fangirl, about the famous teenage wizard Simon Snow and his rival/potential love interest.

Revenger by Alastair Reynolds

I’ve seen Alaistar Reynolds’ books now the sci-fi section before, but never picked one up before now. This is a sci-fi set in the distant future, and its main characters are part of a crew who make a living exploring space in the search of rare and unusual treasures. As a lover of both pirates and space in books, this sounds great.

The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

This is the second book in Patrick Rothfuss’ Kingkiller Chronicle series, and while I haven’t read the first book yet, I couldn’t resist buying the second instalment for only £3.33. The series seems like a dark epic fantasy series filled with intrigue that spans the life of a notorious wizard.

What Else I’ve Been Up To Lately…

What I’ve Been Reading…

  • I just finished Ben Aaronovitch’s Rivers of London. I really liked this book’s unique genre mix of police procedural/crime and fantasy
  • I’m now starting A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. After my mixed feelings about the first book, I’m interested to see what I make of this one.

What I’ve Been Watching…

  • A couple of days ago, I finished the first season of American Gods. I loved the first few episodes of this, and while I think it lost a bit of pace towards the end, I thought this was a really good adaptation of the book.
  • Yesterday I remembered I’d missed out on the last few episodes of Poldark, so I’ve been catching up. And I am very much here for the latest love triangle.
  • I’m also catching up on The Handmaid’s Tale, which I’d left similarly neglected. It’s so good.

Handmaid's Tale.jpg

Favourite Fan Art…

How amazing is this Thirteenth Doctor fan art by Dave Burgess?!

Jodie Whittaker fan art.jpg

I’ve Also Been Enjoying…

  • Watching everybody’s post-YALC videos on YouTube and reading everybody’s post-YALC blog posts. It’s helping to stave off the post-convention blues at least slightly.
  • Hannah Witton – I recently discovered Hannah’s YouTube channel, and I love how open and honest she is about a lot of relatable topics. I’m having a great time making my way through the backlog of videos I’ve yet to watch. I also met her last weekend, and she was so friendly and bubbly!

What are the books, TV shows, films, and fan-art that you’ve been enjoying lately?

Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

