The Thirteenth Doctor // Current Geeky & Non-Geeky Favourites #5

The biggest topic on my mind this week has been the new Doctor Who casting. For anyone who’s been living under a rock/ cut off from all technology and deafened to the whirlwind of reactions, Jodie Whittaker has been cast as the thirteenth Doctor.

Jodie Whittaker Dr Who.jpg

This is, of course, awesome news. Having a woman play the Doctor is something a lot of fans have been asking for over the last few years, and it’s about time this becomes a reality. Whilst I haven’t watched more than a handful of episodes of Doctor Who over the last few years (I really didn’t get on with the writing in recent seasons), I used to be a huge fan of the show during Christopher Eccleston’s and David Tennant’s runs. It was my favourite series, and when I was sixteen, my dream job was to be the head writer of Doctor Who.

And now, I love that girls and women will be able to watch Doctor Who and see be able to imagine themselves travelling through time, not just as a companion, but as the Doctor themself. (I also love that the character just became 100x easier for me to cosplay, since I already have almost the right hair.) To anyone who complains about this decision, I would say good riddance. The Doctor Who fandom doesn’t need those kind of people. To anyone who says it’s unrealistic, or a bit of a stretch for the Doctor to change gender, let me remind you that the Doctor has two hearts, the TARDIS is bigger on the inside, and that Captain Jack Harkness turned into a giant face in a jar.

It kind of grates on me how much people are making a big deal out of this. It’s weird to see headlines that say “New Doctor Who To Be Female”. Don’t they usually say “New Doctor Who To Be [insert name of actor here]”? Why is gender the most notable thing about Jodie Whittaker’s casting? Can’t we talk about the kind of personality her character might have, how she might make herself distinct from Peter Capaldi, or even what her trademark outfit and sonic screwdriver combo might be?

I also saw a headline whilst doing some Googling for this blog post that said “BBC says Jodie Whittaker will be paid same as Peter Capaldi for Doctor Who”. I mean… that kind of thing shouldn’t need saying. Of course she should be paid the same for the equal work. But for some reason, this kind of information is newsworthy and surprising. This casting and all the press (both positive and negative) that’s come with the announcement has been a reminder that we still have a way to go before we can say that sexism doesn’t exist anymore. Casting a female lead in a sci-fi series is still a big deal, and paying her equally to male counterparts apparently isn’t a given. I’m looking forward to the day when these kind of things are just the norm and nobody bats an eyelid. I really hope we get there soon.

I will definitely be tuning into the next season of Doctor Who (and also catch up with the most recent season, since I actually liked the first couple of episodes). I’m looking forward to see what kind of Doctor Jodie Whittaker becomes and the kind of adventures she faces.

Now that I’ve aired what’s been on my mind, I’ll talk about what else I’ve been doing lately. The highlight of my week was an Escape Room which myself and a few friends completed for my birthday. This was really fun, and actually very challenging. I’ve been wanting to do one for the last couple of years, so I’m really glad I finally had the chance.

What else have I been up to lately?

I’m Reading…

  • I just finished The Golden Fool (The Tawny Man #2) by Robin Hobb, which was so good and had so many emotional moments and small pay-offs from events earlier in the series.
  • I’m now racing through Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2) by V. E. Schwab, which I’m also really enjoying, though the writing style is quite a change from Robin Hobb.

I’m Watching…

  • I’m still watching American Gods, and it’s still so good. It’s a great adaptation and has some amazing episodes. They’ve also really done justice to the character of Laura.
  • I’ve also started watching Mad Men, which I’m liking, but haven’t watched enough of to get really into yet
  • And of course, I’m watching Game of Thrones. You can see what I thought of the season premiere here.

Daenerys

I’m Playing…

  • I’m not really playing anything at the moment, though I did play The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild for the first time yesterday, and I like it so far.

I’ve Been Buying…

  • I bought myself copies of Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab and The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Favourite Fan-Art…

  • Instead of fan art, this fortnight’s favourite has to be cosplay again. Just Google San Diego Comic Con cosplay and you’ll know what I’m talking about. There are also some here: LA Times Cosplay Gallery.
Cash Branson, Yondu
K.C. Alfred / San Diego Union-Tribune
Cash Branson of Pittsburgh is dressed as Yondu and “Guardians of the Galaxy.”

I’ve also been enjoying…

  • Decaf Yorkshire Tea – I love tea, and I need decaf. This is a good one.
  • Les Mills Body Pump exercise classes – until this fortnight, it had been a while since I last did this kind of exercise. It’s quite nice to feel less sluggish.
  • Gin cocktails – not that this is something I can have in anything more than moderation, but I really like a good gin cocktail. Especially one that also contains prosecco.
  • San Diego Comic Con Photos – I. Wish. I. Was. There. So. Badly. Right. Now.

Let me know what books, TV series, video games, music etc. you’ve been enjoying lately!


Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook | Instagram

8 thoughts on “The Thirteenth Doctor // Current Geeky & Non-Geeky Favourites #5

  1. Doctor Who has been my favorite show since 2005 and I’m thrilled with the casting choice! It should liven things up considerably. I also am really happy the writing team is being switched up, because to be quite honest my enjoyment levels peaked with Series 5 and have sort of been coasting since. I hope Jodie and the new headwriter manage to breathe new life back into the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I’ve never seen Dr Who before, but I’m glad to see more women get good roles in the media. 🙂 I need to get back onto BoTW! I put 78 hours into HZD and had ditched the fancy new Zelda game to focus on it, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent post! I just finished a re-read of the whole Robin Hobb series and it only gets better. I’m very happy to see the developments with Dr Who. It is disappointing that things haven’t progressed more like you said but we’re getting there. 🤓

    Like

Leave a Reply

