‘Game of Thrones’ is Back: Thoughts on the Season Premiere

Spoilers ahead for Game of Thrones season 7, episode 1. 

It feels like a long time since I watched season 6 of Game of Thrones. And I guess it has been, since this time around, we had to wait more than three extra months for our yearly dose of dragons, blood, ice zombies and sex. But it’s better late than never, since this Sunday (or later on this evening if you live in the UK and had the patience to wait), Game of Thrones finally returned to our screens. As with most things I care about, I already have a lot of thoughts about the season premiere. Here are some of the key moments from this episode, and what I thought of these.

Arya Gets Her Sweet, Sweet Revenge on the Freys

Arya

This season was such a great opener to the new season. Everyone hates the Freys, everyone loves Arya, and so of course everyone was going to love seeing Arya deliver a sinister speech under the guise of Walder Frey before killing the entire family.

The White Walkers Are On Their Way

Our first glimpse of the White Walkers this series was genuinely frightening. In this atmospheric scene, we saw just how big the Night King’s army has grown – and they were already scary enough at Hardhome. Is it wrong that I’m excited to see them in action again?

Everyone Hates Cersei – Apart from Euron Greyjoy (Apparently)

At King’s Landing, we saw Cersei refuse to ruminate on her children’s deaths, as she was instead preoccupied by the fact that she is quite literally surrounded by enemies. As Jaime pointed out, the Lannisters have no allies to speak of. Unless Euron Greyjoy can win over Cersei with whatever “gift” he plans to bring her. I’ll be very interested to see what exactly Euron intends to do to impress Cersei. We can bet it’s going to be something pretty horrific. I’ll also be very interested to see how Cersei and Jaime react when they learn of Daenerys’ arrival.

Lyanna Mormont Is Still Awesome

Lyanna Mormont.jpg

From what I hear of the women of Bear Island, they’re pretty awesome. And so was Lyanna Mormont’s feminist speech this episode. Also, what kind of fool questions a woman’s ability to fight when the fearsome Brienne is sitting right there?

“I don’t plan on knitting by the fire while men fight for me… I might be small, Lord Glover, and I might be a girl, but I am every bit as much a Northerner as you… And I don’t need your permission to defend the North. We will begin training every man, woman, boy and girl on Bear Island.”

 

Tormund and Brienne Reunite

Tormund Brienne

love the dynamic between this pair. It’s so ridiculous and cringe-y and humorous for an otherwise very dark show. And Gwendoline Christie has such a great disgusted face.

Jon and Sansa Clash

We already know the King in the North is going to face plenty of opposition from King’s Landing, but I’m starting to get the impression he might have some difficulties closer to home too. Sansa’s becoming more ambitious, more opinionated, and it’s clear that she’s learnt a lot from her time with Joffrey, Cersei, Littlefinger, and then Ramsay. One of the things I’m really looking forward to seeing this season is how Sansa’s character develops, what it is she hopes to gain and how she intends to do it. We saw how cold, calculating and brutal Sansa can be when she killed Ramsay Bolton, so where does she go from there?

Ed Sheeran Makes a Cameo

Arya Ed Sheeran

Bleh. This cameo was so cheesy and unsubtle. This whole scene felt a bit weird and unnecessary, and that’s about as far as my feelings on this go.

Sam Wants Access to the Restricted Section at Hogwarts the Citadel

I actually weirdly appreciated Sam’s vomit-inducing montage at the Citadel. I also appreciated his longing glances at the restricted books (as a book nerd, I make a lot of these kind of longing glances at books I can’t afford, so I know the feeling). I’m not really sure where’s Sam’s storyline is going this season, and I really hope he’s not just going to serve as a way of info-dumping useful details onto Jon Snow. But at the same time, I hope his time in the Citadel gives us the chance to look into some more Game of Thrones lore. Also, how did Jorah get to the Citadel? Isn’t it ironic that he arrived in Westeros before Dany?

Bran Arrives at The Wall

The Wall

This wasn’t a particularly exciting scene, so it just served to update us on Bran’s situation. After his time beyond The Wall, it looks like it might be time for Bran to return to Winterfell, which I suspect might mean he’s about to deliver some news of Jon’s true parentage.

The Hound Sees a Blast From the Past

Whilst watching this scene, I actually couldn’t put my finger on how the Hound knew the corpses he buried this episode. After some recapping on the internet, it turns out this was the farmer and daughter who offered the Hound and Arya food and shelter back in season four. This ended in the Hound stealing from and injuring the farmer. I think the Hound’s remorse in this scene shows us just how much his character has changed, and that he genuinely regrets a lot of his past actions.

Dany Arrives at Dragonstone

Daenerys

Finally! This is the moment we’ve been waiting for since the very beginning. As a long-time fan of Daenerys who has found her storylines kind of lacking lately, this was a big moment. Daenerys’ arrival at Dragonstone was quiet, tense and atmospheric, and I’m really excited to see her really get started on taking back her throne.

What did you think of the first episode of Game of Thrones season 7? And what are you hoping to see from the rest of the season?

3 thoughts on “‘Game of Thrones’ is Back: Thoughts on the Season Premiere

Leave a Reply

