Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Children’s Books

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blogging prompt, created by Lainey at Gingerreadslainey, and now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. The topics are mostly related to books, but some of the questions are open to be answered using TV, films, graphic novels, or any other entertainment medium. If you want to find out more about the prompt and see the upcoming topics, then check out the Goodreads group here.

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is favourite children’s books. I’m mostly going to be focusing on “middle-grade” books/books aimed at 8-12 year olds for this, since these are the children’s books that are the most memorable to me. So here are my choices!

A Series of Unfortunate Events

Lemony Snicket

The Bad Beginning.JPG

I loved how unique these books were. They were so much darker than anything else I’d read, and they were one of the few non-fantasy books I really loved when I was younger. The characters were also a highlight.

Inkheart (Inkworld #1)

Cornelia Funke

inkheart.jpg

I’m not sure I ever finished the full series, but I remember loving the plot of this first book. Simply by being a story in which fictional characters can be “read out of” their books, this was a fantastic read for a young bookworm like me.

The Witches

Roald Dahl

The Witches.jpg

It would be wrong to leave Roald Dahl off this list. Books of his that I particularly loved were The Witches, Matilda, The BFG and Esio Trot. There’s a reason his books are still so popular after all these years.

 Chronicles of Narnia

C. S. Lewis

lion witch wardrobe

This series is another classic, and one that I really loved. I loved the characters in this series, and the vibrant and magical setting.

The Edge Chronicles

Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell

beyond the deepwoods

This series was incredible. It was so inventive and unusual, and filled with bizarre and often creepy characters. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything quite this imaginative, and I loved the illustrations.

Honorable Mentions

What are your favourite children’s books?

Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook | Instagram

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Children’s Books

  1. oh I love that you added the honorable mentions! That’s a great idea! Sometimes I have a really hard time narrowing down to 5.

    Narnia is definitely a big one from my childhood!

    Like

    1. It’s soooo tough! I always have a lot of books that deserve a mention, but that I don’t have a lot to say about, so it’s an easy way of giving those a shout-out.

      Narnia is definitely a staple for any young fantasy readers.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

