Top 5 Wednesday: Essential Summer Reads

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blogging prompt, created by Lainey at Gingerreadslainey, and now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. The topics are mostly related to books, but some of the questions are open to be answered using TV, films, graphic novels, or any other entertainment medium. If you want to find out more about the prompt and see the upcoming topics, then check out the Goodreads group here.

With sunny weather hopefully approaching (though knowing England, perhaps we’ve seen the best of it already), this week’s topic is all about the books we associate with summer. Writing this post has reminded me of just how great it is to sit outside and read for hours on end, and now I can’t wait for all that summer reading.

“The weather is heating up (for half of the world), so what books remind you of summer and are your quintessential summer reads?”

Everything, Everything

Nicola Yoon

everything everything.jpg

I recently read this book, and it struck me as the perfect summer read. Everything, Everything is the perfect size to take away for a weekend away, and the fact that Hawaii is a big theme in this book makes it even more suited to this theme. This is a light, clever, and easy read about love, loss, loneliness, and what it means to be alive. This book took me through all the emotions in such a short number of pages, meaning it was fantastic for a little escape.

An Abundance of Katherines

John Green

An abundance of katherines.jpg

If there isn’t a roadtrip involved, is it even summer? In An Abundance of Katherines, unlucky-in-love Colin Singleton hits the road with his best friend, hoping to find a mathematical theorem to predict the future of any relationship. I know a lot of people say this is their least favourite John Green book, but this is one of my favourites. An Abundance of Katherines is funny, smart, and completely silly – what kind of boy has dated 19 girls named Katherine?! It’s a fun, easy and geeky read about friendship, love, and finding yourself.

You’re Never Weird On The Internet (Almost)

Felicia Day

You're never weird.jpg

You’re Never Weird On The Internet (Almost) reminds me of summer, because I can so clearly remember the summer I first read it. Felicia Day’s memoir is so relatable, honest, and wonderfully geeky, and I would highly recommend it to any fellow nerds, any perfectionists, and anyone who has liked any of Felicia’s work in the past. This book is funny, smart, insightful, and taught me a lot of valuable lessons. It’s the perfect non-fiction book for summer.

Ship of Magic

Robin Hobb

ship of magic robin hobb

If I’m perfectly honest, I would recommend Robin Hobb for any occasion or season: summer, winter, spring, autumn. I would read her books anywhere, anytime, because I’m simply in love with the way she writes. But Ship of Magic reminds me of the summertime, because a large amount of the book takes place at sea, and what could be more reminiscent of summer? I also remember finishing this series whilst on holiday, and thinking it was the perfect series to become completely engrossed in while taking some time away from work.

Fangirl

Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

Not only is this one of my all-time favourite books, Fangirl is the perfect book to read over the summer, particularly for any young people getting ready to start university in September. Fangirl is a story about fandom, family, and stepping outside of your comfort zone. As a fangirl, an introvert, and a bookworm, I found the main character in Fangirl to be extremely relatable, and it left me with that reassuring feeling that I’m not the only one who prefers a good book to a crazy house party.

Do you have any books that remind you of summer?

Featured Image: Erik Scheel on Pexels

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Essential Summer Reads

  1. Great list, Ellie!
    While An Abundance of Katherines and Fangirl were not memorable books for me, I definitely agree they earn a spot here.
    I’ve been wanting to read Robin Hobb for the longest time… Let’s see when that happens!
    Oh and I love Felicia ❤ I really need to read her book too!!

    Like

    1. Thanks 🙂
      Robin Hobb’s a big commitment with so many books, but I’d say it’s definitely worth it.
      And if you love Felicia, you should definitely read her book. It’s so relatable, and funny, and full of wisdom. It’s probably one of the few books that I would argue actually changed my perspective on life and I’m planning on re-reading it soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, that’s probably why I haven’t started the series yet hahaha
        Oh that’s awesome! I’m glad to know it 🙂 I mean, it would still be pretty great just because it’s Felicia but getting that bonus experience out of it is even better!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

