Meeting Robin Hobb // Current Geeky and Non-Geeky Favourites

I’ve decided to start writing some slightly more personal posts to let you all know what I’ve been up to outside of blogging, and share my thoughts on any small topics that are on my mind. I’m hoping these posts will be a fortnightly occurrence, so we’ll see how that goes.

At the moment, my life outside the blogosphere is dominated by exams, so most of my time is occupied by staring at lecture notes and puzzling over equations. However, I know how important revision breaks are, and last week provided me with the perfect excuse when Robin Hobb visited my local Waterstones to sign copies of her latest book, Assassin’s Fate.

Robin Hobb is my favourite fantasy author (currently joint-top with V. E. Schwab), so I knew I couldn’t miss an opportunity to meet her in-person. While I’m nowhere near up-to-date with her books, her Liveship Traders books are probably my all-time favourite fantasy series.

Robin Hobb is the author who got me back into fantasy when I hit the dreaded reading slump that inevitably comes with starting university. With so much required reading, it was hard for me to find time or willpower to read for fun anymore, even though reading had always been my favourite hobby. Finding Robin Hobb’s books dragged me back into the world of fantasy, and reminded me of why it captured my imagination so much. She also introduced me to characters like Althea Vestrit, who I still look to for courage and determination when things get tough.

I queued for an hour and a half to meet Robin, and whilst it was a long time to stand up and hold onto the mountain of books I had brought with me, it was worth it to tell her how much I love her work. Robin was so friendly and patient, and seemed genuinely happy to be meeting her readers, even though she must have been exhausted from meeting so many new faces and writing so many dedications throughout the week.

Me and Robin Hobb (2).JPG

What else have I been up to lately?

I’m Reading…

  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard – I’ve just finished this very relatable young adult story about a girl who has been a selective mute for most of her life
  • Saga, Volume 3 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples – I’ve just finished this volume of the fun, smart, and unusual space opera about a couple from opposite sides of an interplanetary war, on-the-run with their newborn baby
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – I’ve just started this new adult fantasy series that I’ve heard a lot about, so hopefully it lives up to the hype

I’m Watching…

  • Riverdale on Netflix – read my thoughts on this addictive teen drama here
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 – I watched this at the weekend, and I’m currently writing my review, so hopefully I should be able to share it with you soon

GotG2.jpg

I’ve Been Buying…

  • In an impressive charity shop haul, I bought myself Shaman’s Crossing and Forest Mage by Robin Hobb, The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter, and The Humans by Matt Haig, all in good condition and for a grand total of £2.50
  • I also bought myself a copy of Golden Fool and Assassin’s Fate by Robin Hobb
  • Super Beauty Raspberry and Cranberry Bath & Shower Gel – this shower gel is such a bright shade of pinkI’m surprised it hasn’t dyed my skin yet

Charity shop haul

Favourite Fan-Art…

I absolutely love this piece of A Song of Ice and Fire fan art that I found whilst browsing for a new desktop wallpaper. The original artist is vessel on DeviantArt. Daenerys’ dragons look so sleepy and cute.

GOTDragons.jpg

I’ve also been enjoying…

  • Anything that’s easy to cook – exam season is not the time to get creative with food. It’s all about noodles, pizza, and pasta
  • Free Comic Book Day – This happened last Saturday, meaning I was able to pick up free copies of comic books including Wonder Woman and Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Paramore – I’ve been waiting a while to hear from one of my favourite bands, and I’m loving what I’ve heard of their new music so far

paramore 2

Let me know what books, TV series, video games, music etc. you’ve been enjoying lately!


Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook | Instagram

3 thoughts on “Meeting Robin Hobb // Current Geeky and Non-Geeky Favourites

Leave a Reply

