Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Sci-fi and Fantasy Book Covers

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blogging prompt, created by Lainey at Gingerreadslainey, and hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. The topics are mostly related to books, but some of the questions are open to be answered using TV, films, graphic novels, or any other entertainment medium. If you want to find out more about the prompt and see the upcoming topics, then check out the Goodreads group here.

May 3rd: Favorite SFF Cover Art *Booktube SFF Awards Crossover Topic*
— “Show off some of your favorite science fiction and fantasy cover art!”

This week’s topic is “favourite sci-fi and fantasy cover art”. This was actually a really difficult topic for me, and made me realise how little I think about book covers. I don’t really have much of an eye for visual art, so while covers often catch my eye, I’m not really sure what makes an “attractive” or “pretty” book cover. I also find it really hard to separate the content from the appearance of the book, so it was a real struggle to choose books that specifically looked good, instead of choosing the sci-fi and fantasy books I love the most. Here’s what I came up with.

The Mad Ship (The Liveship Traders #2) by Robin Hobb

The Mad Ship

This is one of my all-time favourite books. There’s something about the way Amber and Paragon look on this cover feels really atmospheric and reminds me of how much I loved this series.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet (Wayfarers #1) by Becky Chambers

Long Way

Though I’m yet to read this book, the cover was a factor in my decision to buy it. I love the way this cover looks, from the layout of the text, to the romantic starry sky.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

uprooted

Another book I haven’t read yet, I really like the way Uprooted looks on my shelf. I like the simplicity of the cover art, and there’s definitely a fairytale-feeling about it.

The Golden Fool (The Tawny Man #2) by Robin Hobb 

Golden Fool

I couldn’t help myself: I had to choose another book by Robin Hobb, this one, for a different reason. In this cover, I love the typography, and vibrant red colouring.

Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Gemina

I love the design and colour of this cover. It’s just so blue. I also really like the art inside of this book.

Honorable Mentions

Because this has been such a short blog post, I thought I would throw in some honorable mentions. A Natural History of Dragons, The Handmaid’s Tale and The Martian have easily some of the best covers I’ve seen, but sadly, since I don’t actually own a copy of these (yet), it just didn’t feel right to choose them for this week’s top five.

What are your favourite sci-fi and fantasy book covers?

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Sci-fi and Fantasy Book Covers

  1. Anything with a good galaxy print 👌 I really love the detail in the UK covers of the Shades of Magic series, especially with the London diagrams at the bottom, but my all time fave fantasy covers are The School for Good and Evil covers by Soman Chainani. The artwork is so beautiful, I’m practically tearing up just looking at it.

    Like

  2. I really liked the covers they did for the Foundation Trilog….okay, it was longer than that in the end. The foundation series. They had nicely embossed letters to.
    Piers Anthony’s Pale Horse was also pretty cool.

    Like

    1. embossed letters too–such a rookie blogger mistake. I wanted to correct it, but couldn’t. I probably should have capitalized Foundation the second time too. Oh well.

      Like

    1. Me too! I really liked the film, so if the book’s even better, then it sounds great. Although it can sometimes spoil a book a little when I already know what’s going to happen :/

      Like

      1. Yeah but I think this book would still be worth the read because the real fun of it is in the challenges. May not have the same level of suspense, but being immersed in the problem solving aspect is what appeals to me. Less “I’m gonna science this bitch” and more “Oh man better use some science to survive the night”.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think you’re right, the problem solving and environment are the really interesting parts. I would still really love to read it. Maybe when the film’s a little less fresh in my mind though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

