Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I Need To Read More From

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blogging prompt, created by Lainey at Gingerreadslainey, and hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. The topics are mostly related to books, but some of the questions are open to be answered using TV, films, graphic novels, or any other entertainment medium. If you want to find out more about the prompt and see the upcoming topics, then check out the Goodreads group here.

This week’s topic is “authors you need to read more from”, and for me, there are so many authors on this list, including several authors I’ve only recently discovered.

“Talk about some authors that you’ve only read one or a few books from, and you NEED to read more! “

Victoria/ V. E. Scwab

Shades of Magic trilogy, Monsters of Verity series, The Archived series

I first discovered V. E. Schwab at the beginning of the year, and instantly fell in love with her writing. Having finished her incredible fantasy trilogy, Shades of Magic, filled with its unique and believable characters and vivid world-building, I’m looking forward to reading more of her work.

Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl, Eleanor and Park, Carry On

Fangirl became one of my favourite young adult novels when I read it last year, and I can’t believe I haven’t read more of Rainbow Rowell’s work since. I loved Fangirl for its geekiness, its relatable characters and its feel-good factor, so I’m hoping to find more of this in Rowell’s other books, particularly Carry On.

Adam Silvera

History Is All You Left Me, More Happy Than Not, They Both Die at the End (future release)

Another young adult author I’ve recently discovered is Adam Silvera. History Is All You Left Me is one of my favourite 2017 books so far, because of its mix of humour, tragedy, and beautiful writing. They Both Die at the End comes out later this year and sounds like it has an interesting (and once again, potentially tragic) theme, so I’m looking forward to reading it.

Joe Abercrombie

The First Law trilogy, Shattered Sea trilogy

Joe Abercrombie is a fantasy author I’ve heard a lot about, though I’m yet to finish reading his The First Law trilogy. I enjoyed The Blade Itself, which was a slow-burner with intriguing and unique characters, and rich world-building. This book took me a while to read, since the plot progressed slowly, but it felt as though it was building up to something big. Now, I want to know what that something is.

Brian K. Vaughan

Saga, Y: The Last Man, Paper Girls

While I don’t read graphic novels as often as I do books, my current favourite series is Saga, written by Brian K. Vaughan and illustrated by Fiona Staples. This is a really unique space opera, featuring complex characters, unusual antagonists, and plenty of sci-fi. Amongst the graphic novels I’ve read, this has really stood out as a fantastic series, so I would love to read more of Vaughan’s work.

Are there any authors you can’t wait to read more from? Let me know in the comments, and maybe they’ll make their way onto my to-read list!

All photos from Goodreads.

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I Need To Read More From

Leave a Reply

