Top 5 Wednesday: Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books on My TBR

Top 5 Wednesday is a fun weekly blogging prompt, created by Lainey at Gingerreadslainey, and hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. The topics are mostly related to books, but some of the questions are open to be answered using TV, films, graphic novels, or any other entertainment medium. If you want to find out more about the prompt and see the upcoming topics, then check out the Goodreads group here.

*Booktube SFF Awards Babble Crossover Topic* – Talk about the science fiction and fantasy books you want to read ASAP!

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is about the top sci-fi and fantasy books on my to-read list. This is simultaneously a very easy and very difficult topic for me, since about 75% of the books on my TBR (to-be-read) are sci-fi and fantasy. As you might have noticed if you’ve been following this blog for a while, I’m addicted to the genre. I’ve done my best to narrow my extensive reading list to the five sci-fi and fantasy books that I’m most looking forward to reading.

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1)

Victoria Schwabb

V E Schwab This Savage Song.jpg

After finishing V. E. (a.k.a Victoria) Schwab’s Shades of Magic series over the weekend, I can’t wait to read more of her work. The first book in a duology, This Savage Song is a young adult urban fantasy which takes place in a city inhabited by both humans and monsters. The second book in the series will be out this June, so I’m hoping I can read this before then. While I’m on the subject of V. E. Schwab, another of her books I’m looking forward to reading is Vicious.

Fool’s Errand (The Tawny Man Trilogy #1)

Robin Hobb

 Fool's Errand Robin Hobb.jpg

Robin Hobb is already one of my favourite authors, despite only having read two of her many series set in the Realm of the Elderlings. It’s about time I get back to her books with Fool’s Errand. This book continues the story of the main character of The Farseer Trilogy, Fitz, fifteen years on. It’s been a couple of years since I last read Robin Hobb’s work, but I’m hoping her writing still carries the same magic as when I first discovered her.

Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch #1)

Ann Leckie

Ancillary Justice Ann Leckie.jpg

This science fiction novel has been sitting on my shelf for far too long. I was drawn to this series because of its complexity. The main protagonist is a soldier called Breq, who was formerly a colossal starship with an artificial intelligence linking thousands of soldiers. That kind of unique complexity is enough to intrigue any sci-fi fan, I’m sure. But it also means I’ve been feeling a little intimidated to pick it up. Fingers crossed I’ll have the courage (and time) to start reading this soon.

The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1)

Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind.jpg

Another book that’s been sitting on my shelf for far too long is Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind. I have heard so much about this book, and I feel almost ashamed that I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. In this book, the notorious wizard Kvothe recounts his story, from his childhood in a troupe of travelling players to his time as a fugitive after the murder of a king. It’s hard to start a fantasy series that sounds as epic as this one, but I’m hoping to get round to it by the end of the year.

(Re-Read) Northern Lights (His Dark Materials #1)

Philip Pullman

Northern Lights.jpg

I’ve actually already read this book once, but I’m determined to re-read it before the release of Pullman’s The Book of Dust later this year. This magical story centres around Lyra, a determined young heroine, who along with her daemon – an animal companion whose consciousness is tethered to her own – is drawn into a dangerous quest when her friend Roger disappears. I loved this book the first time around, and I’m excited to see if it stands the tests of time and ageing.

I could go on and on listing sci-fi and fantasy books on my TBR, but I’ll stop here with a few honorable mentions:

  • Abaddon’s Gate (Expanse #3) by James S. A. Corey – I can’t wait to read more of Corey’s gripping character-driven sci-fi series
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas – I’ve heard great things about this new adult fantasy series
  • American Gods (American Gods #1) by Neil Gaiman – I’m determined to start this series before the TV series comes to the UK

Which sci-fi and fantasy series are top of your to-read pile? Let me know in the comments below!

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books on My TBR

  1. Since you list American Gods with “#1” attached to it, am I safe in assuming you are referring to the comic? Gaiman is one of my favorite authors and though America Gods is my favorite book by him, I would recommend the Sandman comics. Written by Gaiman, there are elements of fantasy and literary allusions throughout. I really want to see how they updated American Gods since the book was written in 2001, but unfortunately don’t have the Starz channel. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

