Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Felt Betrayed By

Top 5 Wednesday is a fun weekly blogging prompt, created by Lainey at Gingerreadslainey, and hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. The topics are mostly related to books, but the questions are usually open to be answered using TV, films, graphic novels, or any other entertainment medium. If you want to find out more about the prompt and see the upcoming topics, then check out the Goodreads group here.

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is books and characters you felt betrayed by. I’ve decided to focus on the characters who’ve hurt me the most, or whose character arcs took a completely different turn to what I’d wanted for them.

Beware the Ides of March! What books (or characters) did you feel betrayed by, for whatever reason…big or small.

Please Read This To Avoid Spoilers:

Because of the nature of this topic, this post is going to be extremely spoiler-y. To help you avoid spoilers, I’m going to give the name of each book as a heading, and then only go into details about the character I felt betrayed by in the description below it – each description will contain major spoilers. So if you haven’t read the book in question and you don’t want it to be spoiled, then PLEASE SKIP THAT BOOK!

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

SinEaters.jpg

When I read this book recently, I became very quickly invested in one of the characters: specifically, Lief. I loved the way his relationship with Twylla developed, and by mid-way through the book I shipped this couple so much. Then came the realisation that Lief wasn’t who I thought he was, and I could not have felt more hurt.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl.jpg

I loved this book so much, and became so invested in the character of Cath. Which is why it hurt so much when it felt as if Wren simply wasn’t there for her twin sister. I actually really liked the character of Wren and I understand that it wasn’t always her fault that she couldn’t be there for her sister. But that didn’t stop me from feeling Cath’s pain.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay.jpg

When I realised Gale had been involved in planning the attack which led to Prim’s death, that was the end of any love I had for Gale. There are probably few things that could have hurt Katniss more than her sister’s death did, and for Gale to have been responsible? There are no words to describe how angry I was.

Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer

Twilight.jpg

I have to admit that when I first read Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight Saga, I really enjoyed them. I liked that Bella was awkward and dorky, and even how unrealistically clumsy and accident-prone she was. But by the final books of the series, I felt she had lost a lot of agency. As the books went on, she seemed more and more intent to please those around her (Edward, Jacob), and she just wasn’t looking after herself anymore. Her world revolved around these men.

Hannibal by Thomas Harris

hannibal.png

Clarice is probably one of my all-time favourite literary women, because she’s smart, independent, and brave. So I was completely horrified by the ending of Hannibal, which saw Hannibal and Clarice become lovers and disappear into the sunset. How? Why? I still don’t understand, and I don’t like to think about it.

Which characters – or books – have you felt betrayed by?

Leave a Reply

