Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Sci-fi and Fantasy Books

Top 5 Wednesday is a fun weekly blogging prompt, created by Lainey at Gingerreadslainey, and hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. The topics are mostly related to books, but the questions are usually open to be answered using TV, films, graphic novels, or any other entertainment medium. If you want to find out more about the prompt and see the upcoming topics, then check out the Goodreads group here.

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is “favourite science fiction and fanatasy books” in collaboration with the Booktube (aka the book vlogger side of YouTube) SFF Awards.

“In collaboration with the BooktubeSFF Awards, talk about your favorite science fiction and fantasy books of all time!”

This week’s topic feels like it was made for me. As a long-time lover of science fiction and fantasy, it’s hard to know where to begin. But here are the five science fiction and fantasy books I’ve enjoyed the most.

Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

gemina-3

Gemina is a young adult sci-fi told through a collection of instant messages, security camera footage, and emails. I never expected to love this series as much as I have. I couldn’t put this book down, and it took me on an emotional rollercoaster that it will be hard for the third instalment in The Illuminae Files to beat. See my review as part of my February reviews here.

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic #2) by V. E. Schwab

agos

A Gathering of Shadows is the second book in V. E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy, set across parallel Londons and filled with magic and vibrant characters. This book was simply fantastic. I haven’t fallen in love with characters in this way since I read Robin Hobb’s The Liveship Traders trilogy. Read my review as part of my February round-up here. I am very excited to start reading the final book in this series.

The Last Wish (Witcher #1) by Andrzej Sapkowski

cropped-good-witcher-photo

The Last Wish is a collection of short stories following the monster-hunter (witcher) Geralt of Rivia as he rids the land of evil. This book took me completely by surprise. It was so much more than a fantasy adventure, as each story told a moral tale, questioned prejudices and turned fairytales on their heads. I loved the characters, the adventure, and the twists. Read my full-length (but still spoiler-free) review here.

Caliban’s War (The Expanse #2) by James S. A. Corey

Caliban's War.jpg

The second book in James S. A. Corey’s fantastically character-driven The Expanse series, this book built on the interplanetary conflict set up in Leviathan Wakes. Thanks to the introduction of Bobbie and Avasarala, this book quickly became one of my all-time favourites. The Expanse is such an excellent series, exploring epic sci-fi from a character-focused perspective, and this book was perfect. Read my review as part of my December round-up here.

Ship of Destiny (The Liveship Traders #3) by Robin Hobb

robin-hobb-ship-of-destiny

The Liveship Traders is a series I wasn’t sure I would enjoy, but fell completely head-over-heels for. Told from different perspectives, this is an epic fantasy series featuring unique characters, beautiful writing, and magical sentient ships. This conclusion to the series was gripping, terrifying, magical and wonderful. Over the trilogy, I had really grown invested in these characters, even the monstrous but charismatic pirate, Captain Kennit, and this was the perfect conclusion to their stories.

Honourable mentions:

  • Assassin’s Quest (Farseer Trilogy #3) by Robin Hobb – this book probably should have been in my top five, but I didn’t want to mention Robin Hobb twice in one list. Few books have made me feel as emotional as this one. It was everything I had hoped for to conclude the Farseer Trilogy.
  • Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples – technically, this is a graphic novel and not a book, but I adored this sci-fi space opera. This was the first graphic novel I bought, and it was the perfect introduction.

What are your favourite sci-fi and fantasy books?

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Sci-fi and Fantasy Books

  1. I’ve been wanting to read the Witcher series for so long but somehow it always gets pushed further down in my TBR pile 😦 I have Gemina waiting for me but I’m still recovering from Illuminae two months after having finished it! I loved this list ❤

    Like

  2. Caliban’s War is my favorite of the Expanse books, because of Bobbie and Avasarala too 🙂 Have you been watching the TV show? It’s a good adaptation.

    Like

    1. I still haven’t read the rest of the series yet, but I’m hoping to get round to it soon. And I have! I’ve only watched season 1 so far, but you’re right, it’s pretty great – I particularly like Avasarala in it – the actress is great 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

