Top 5 Wednesday: Fictional Jobs I’d Love To Apply For

Top 5 Wednesday is a fun weekly blogging prompt, created by Lainey at Gingerreadslainey, and hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. The topics are mostly related to books, but the questions are usually open to be answered using TV, films, graphic novels, or any other entertainment medium. If you want to find out more about the prompt and see the upcoming topics, then check out the Goodreads group here.

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is “five fictional jobs you’d want to have”. It’s an interesting time for this topic to come up, since right now is “application season” for students like myself. In reality, I don’t think I’d get very far in most of these fictional careers – all the best ones involve a little too much peril for my liking. But it’s fun to daydream. So here are my choices:

Demon Hunter/Vampire Slayer

Bufffy.gif

I’m not sure hunting monsters or vampires is a job that matches my particular skill set, but I would be lying if I said it didn’t sound exciting. In a fictional world, I would love to be the hero of the story, and travel the world, country (or Sunnydale), protecting humans from creatures that lurk in the night. In reality, I’m happy just to read about it.

Aperture Science Test Subject

glados
“For science, you monster.”

I’m not sure I’m supposed to want this job. But, after all, it’s for science. I’m obsessed with the physics-based puzzles in the Portal games, and I would put up with GLaDOS’ taunting (and attempts on my life) for some time with a portal gun. As far as evil bosses go, at least GLaDOS is witty, and a worthy adversary.

Bard

dandilion-the-bard
I could be Dandilion… right?

As a lover of stories, I think I would be well-suited to the bard’s life. When it comes to musical talent, however, that’s a different mater. But I could see myself traversing a fantasy world in search of my next story or poem, recording miraculous events and heroic feats.

Inception Architect

Ellen Page Inception Gif.gif

Does having vivid dreams and an active imagination qualify me for this job? I hope so! Designing Inception‘s physics-defying dreamscapes would be mind-boggling, but fun.

Starfleet Captain

Jean Luc Picard.jpg
“Set phasers to stun.”

In my opinion, this is probably the best job of them all. As a space and science nerd, it’s hard to think of a job that would beat being captain of a starship like The Enterprise. In fact, I would love most of the jobs onboard The Enterprise: chief of security, engineer, science officer, you name it. Just as long as it’s not “generic redshirt”. Please don’t let me be a redshirt.

Honourable mentions:

  • Charlie Weasley’s job – I’m not entirely sure what he does for a living, but I know it involves dragons. So naturally, I’m in.
  • Wormhole engineer – it’s a dangerous job maintaining an unstable wormhole in the depths of space, but a cool one.

If you could have any fictional job, what would it be?

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Fictional Jobs I’d Love To Apply For

Leave a Reply

