“This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours” Book Tag

I was recently tagged by Lashaan and Trang at Bookidote to take part in my very first book tag! The tag is all about favourite genres, and I can’t wait to tell you all about mine.

Before I start, here’s some information about the tag, for anyone who wants to take part.

The Rules:

  • Credit  Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek as the creator of the tag, use the created tag name graphic and link back to his blog (side note: Drew’s blog is really great, so  I would definitely check it out, especially if you like fantasy)
  • Answer the questions
  • Tag as many people as you want

Now for the questions…

1. What is your favourite genre?

HealthPotionDragonDaenerys.jpg

If you couldn’t tell from my love of dragons, and weakness for “health potion”-scented candles, I love fantasy, mostly epic or high fantasy.

2. Who is your favourite author from the genre?

I seem to be discovering new fantasy authors all the time, but for the last couple of years, Robin Hobb has reigned at the top of my list of fantasy authors. She has a talent for writing some of the most interesting characters I’ve encountered in fantasy, and crafting unpredictable and gripping stories. The thing I love most about her writing is that she really puts her characters through hell, and you can see how much they change throughout a series. My favourite series of hers (so far) is The Liveship Traders, a series which features sentient ships, pirates, kickass female characters, and even dragons.

3. What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

Fantasy does what it says on the tin. It takes you to a new world, where magical things happen, where new and exotic species exist, where the forces of good battle the forces of evil. Oh, and did I mention, sometimes, there are dragons. 

I started loving fantasy for the escapism, for the underestimated and often unpopular hero, who beats the bad guy and wins the respect of the kingdom. I continued reading fantasy for its complexity, for the grey areas that arise in books like A Game of Thrones or The Blade Itself. I love the rich worlds authors can create, and even more, the complex and constantly evolving characters. For me, fantasy needs to be character-driven for me to really love it.

… or it needs to contain dragons. Either will do.

4. What is the book that started your love for the genre?

eragon.png

There are  a lot of books that could be credited with starting my love of fantasy. The Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling was probably one of the first fantasy series I really loved, and after that, I read a whole host of children’s and young adult fantasy books. However, the book that springs to mind, and probably the first of the more challenging and epic fantasy books I read was Eragon by Christopher Paolini. I absolutely loved this book, so much that it inspired me to write my own short stories about dragons when I was younger. It may no longer be my favourite fantasy series, but it was the one that really grabbed my attention and helped bridge the gap from children’s fantasy to adult fantasy.

5. If you had to recommend at least one book from your favourite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

mistborn-cover-photo

This is a difficult question, because I would recommend different books to different people. For someone who hasn’t read a lot of fantasy, and is maybe put off by huge series like A Song of Ice and Fire, I would recommend Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series. I’ve also recently been reading V. E. Schwabb’s Shades of Magic, which I think would be a brilliant introduction to the genre: very readable, fascinating characters, and exciting. To someone who doesn’t mind something a little slower-paced, but equally rewarding, I’d have to recommend Robin Hobb’s Farseer Trilogy.

6. Why do you read?

I’ve always been a big reader. When I was younger, it was almost embarassing that I classed reading as one of my favourite hobbies. Now that I’m older, I’m proud of it. I love that by opening a book, I can temporarily inhabit a different world, a different character. Reading is also a way for me to relax, and keeps my mind occupied.

I read different genres for different reasons. I read sci-fi and fantasy for the escape, the excitement, and to feed my imagination. I read young adult fiction because it’s so effortless to enjoy, and it makes me smile. I read non-fiction so that I can expose myself different points of view, or learn something new.

Mostly, I read for the sheer joy of it.

 

I’m tagging:

Beth at The Books Are Everywhere

Irena at Books and Hot Tea

Everyone at Fiction is Our Addiction

Lost in a Good Book

MyGenreBookTag.jpg

7 thoughts on ““This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours” Book Tag

  1. Thanks for the extra mention at the beginning of the tag.😀

    Always cool to see something I created still around on blogs and extra high praise for being a fantasy fan to!😀

    Robin Hobb is awesome and nice to see The Blade Itself get a sneaky little mention, definitely shades of grey in that trilogy and some amazing characters to.

    Great answers.😀

    Like

    1. Thanks!
      If I remember correctly, we had a few answers in common – it’s very hard not to choose Robin Hobb when it comes to fantasy authors, she’s in a league of her own.
      I haven’t finished the First Law trilogy yet, but I like where it’s going, and yes, I definitely get that feel from it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! Thank you so much for doing this tag!! So glad to see fantasy as your top pick. And man… DRAGOOOOOONS!! ❤ I also REALLY have to get my hands on a Robin Hobb book. I've been seeing her books way too often for the past months. As if it was some kind of sign from the Universe telling me to purchase it already! 😀 Great answers. 😉

    – Lashaan

    Like

Leave a Reply

