Top 5 Wednesday: Current Favourites That Aren’t Books

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blogging prompt, created by Lainey, and hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to find out more about the prompt and see the upcoming topics, then check out the Goodreads group here.

This week, the theme is “Current Favourites That Aren’t Books”:

“Sometimes it’s nice to take a break from books and talk about some other things you’ve been obsessed with. These all don’t have to be in the same category. Mix it up! What TV shows have you been enjoying, makeup you’ve been wearing, food you’ve been eating, etc.??”

Here, I’ve put together this short list of a few of the little things I’ve been enjoying for the last couple of weeks. 

Game: The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt – Hearts of Stone DLC

I’ve been playing this Witcher 3 DLC when I’ve been able to find the time over the last couple of weeks, and I’ve been really enjoying getting back into my favourite game from last year. I’m really liking the storyline and the characters in this DLC, and there have been some really fun quests so far.

TV Show: Buffy The Vampire Slayer

Nothing creates the feel-good factor like a trip down memory lane with a childhood favourite TV show. You might argue that Buffy the Vampire Slayer isn’t really a series for children, but I’d say I’m better off for having spent a childhood watching Sarah Michelle Gellar’s Buffy taking down Sunnydale’s vampires. Excluding the death animations, this series has aged pretty well.

Podcast: Sophos Security Chet Chat

As a computer science student, it’s handy to keep up to date with the latest technology news, and especially in my area of interest, security. This is a great podcast to keep me informed with everything that’s been happening in the world of IT security, and is so much easier than seeking out news every day.

Song: This Is Why We Fight – The Decemberists

This song has been stuck in my head ever since I added it to a playlist I created for my Dungeons and Dragons character (yes, I’m that nerdy). I don’t have a lot to say about this song, other than the fact that it’s catchy, motivational, and now makes me think of D&D.

(Another) Podcast: Dear Hank and John

Since I’ve been spending a lot of time walking to and from university each day, I’ve been listening to a lot more podcasts recently. Dear Hank and John is one of my particular favourites, and has been for a while. I’m a long time fan of the Green brothers, so I’ve really enjoyed listening to this podcast, in which they deliver sometimes dubious, but sometimes really insightful advice, along with updates from Mars and AFC Wimbledon.

Check out the last Top 5 Wednesday I participated in: Characters You’d Invite to Your New Year’s Eve Party.

What are your non-bookish favourites right now? Feel free to leave me a link to your Top 5 Wednesday post in the doobly-doo (a.k.a. comments section) below!

17 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Current Favourites That Aren’t Books

  1. If you’re enjoying the Heart of Stone DLC you’ll love Blood and Wine. It’s astoundingly beautiful and gives you more content than you pay for. It’s also great if you’ve read the books for the little inside jokes the witcher is famous for.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

