5 Films I’m Looking Forward to Seeing in 2017

2017 has only just begun, but there are a few films which have already appeared on my radar for the coming year. Here they are:

5. The Dark Tower

Idris Elba Dark Tower.jpg

I am yet to read Stephen King’s The Dark Tower series, but I would love to get around to them. Luckily, this film will give me the chance to get into the series, even if I can’t find the time. I’m intrigued to see how it turns out, particularly since details of the plot, which is likely to differ from the plot of the books, have been kept tightly under wraps, and I’m excited to see Idris Elba as a gunslinger. I love the sound of The Dark Tower, with its dark fantasy, sci-fi, horror and Western genres.

4. Alien: Covenant


Most people who know me will know that I love the Alien movies. Prometheus was a decent film, but it didn’t even scratch the surface of the original Alien that I love so much, and Alien: Covenant holds a promise to do better. From the look of the trailer, we’re going to be seeing all the evolutions of the alien, from the eggs, to the facehugger, to the big guy. I really hope this film can take things back to Alien‘s roots and do the name justice.

3. Star Wars: Episode VIII

rey-bb8

I loved Star Wars: Episode VII, and cannot wait for the next installment. Star Wars is something I would find hard not to get excited about, so this had to make my list of most anticipated films for this year. I’m excited about to see more of the new characters that were introduced in The Force Awakens, and want to hear more of their stories. I can’t wait to find out how the latest Star Wars trilogy unfolds, and where this newest story is taking us.

2. Wonder Woman

If there was one thing that stuck with me after watching Batman v Superman last year, it was Gal Gadot’s Wonder Woman. Seeing her soaring through the air, shield in hand, I could only describe myself as awestruck. I’ve never been a huge fan of DC (with the exception of Christopher Nolan’s Dark Knight trilogy), so it’s surprising that Wonder Woman is one of my most anticipated films of 2017, when Thor: Ragnarok and Spider-Man: Homecoming aren’t. I really hope this film lives up to its expectation, as a good female superhero movie is a long time overdue.

1. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

I’ll admit that I was late to the party when it came to the first Guardians of the Galaxy film, but now that I’m here, there’s no getting rid of me. The first film was fantastic: it was funny, action-packed, and clever. The trailer for volume two really hypes up this film – I mean, just look at Baby Groot – so I have high expectations for the sequel. This movie looks to be good fun and witty like its predecessor. Let’s hope they can keep up the good work.

What films are you looking forward to this year?

Images/trailers: Entertainment Weekly, 20th Century Fox, Walt Disney Studios, Warner Bros. Pictures, Marvel Entertainment

3 thoughts on “5 Films I’m Looking Forward to Seeing in 2017

Leave a Reply

