My Weekend at MCM London Comic Con

So I wanted to write a blog post to round up my experience of London Comic Con this weekend. But three days of panels, interviews and sweaty tube journeys, and four articles and a blog later, I could not be more shattered.

So instead, in what some might call “lazy journalism”, but what I would describe as a stroke of incredibly efficient genius, I’m going to sum up my weekend with some embedded tweets and photos. A picture paints a thousand words, right?

The weekend started on Friday, with the first of my geeky t-shirts, and of course, a selfie.

A sweaty journey on the London Underground later, and I was already marvelling at just how strange an experience a convention is.

My first panel was about the #LGBTSuperheroes campaign by Shape History, which launched today.

This seems like a really great and necessary campaign which I am 100% behind, because we need to be hearing the stories of LGBT people too – not just those of the stereotypically “masculine” male.

I then fangirled over Game of Thrones’ Hannah Waddingham, who plays the terrifying Septa Unell. In an astonishing turn of events, I did not freeze, forget how to speak, or embarrass myself (too much) whilst talking to the actress. Progress!

I also took some photos and interviewed some seriously cool cosplayers. You can find the photos and interviews here.

New Image

With day one completed, it was time to move on to day two, and time for Instagram filters to magically erase my eye-bags.

Day two brought with it a whole host of new cosplays.

And the Being Human panel, which is definitely the panel I was most looking forward to.

I got to sit next to a group who were arguably the most excitable fans in the room, but I also got a brilliant front row seat.

I also got to see Agent Carter’s Anna Jarvis (Lotte Verbeek) at the Superstars of Shield panel (oh yeah, some of the Agents of Shield cast were there too, which I’m sure would have been exciting if I actually watched the show).

And then, Poppy Drayton from The Shannara Chronicles was almost too lovely and charming during her slot.

Then, finally, the last day *suppressed sobbing noises*. Fun fact, no, the t-shirt did not get me special blogger privileges.

But I did still get to see Kunal Nayyar, Melissa Rauch, and Jesse Eisenberg (albeit, from quite a distance). I also realised that Jesse Eisenberg and I are very similar in the way we handle talking in front of an audience about something we’re passionate about (The Geek Show listeners might remember). Very fast, very passionate, and kind of babbling.

There were more cosplays, of course.

And finally, there was, of course, the swag. P.S. If you look closely, you can see that the bottom necklace is Arya and The Hound and reads “Remember where the heart is?” and the top one reads “My ‘people skills’ are ‘rusty'” (a la Castiel from Supernatural), and that the earrings have Spock on them!

I’m especially excited to read the first Metal Made Flesh graphic novel – I was completely captivated by the art style whilst walking through the Comics Village, and was even more impressed when I saw the writing.

metal made flesh.JPG

All in all, I had a fantastic, tiring, and slightly overwhelming weekend. It was a lot better than my short experience of Comic Con last year – partly because I didn’t oversleep this year, but mostly because I had the chance this year to talk to lots of friendly and interesting people.

See you next time, Comic Con!

 

2 thoughts on “My Weekend at MCM London Comic Con

Leave a Reply

